World Scenography 1990-2005

by Peter McKinnon & Eric Fielding

, ,

Tags: ,

80,00  incl. VAT, plus shipping costs

This is the second volume of the World Scenography book series that documents for posterity a collection of significant and influential theatrical set, costume, and lighting designs. The first volume documented 1975-1990. This one covers 1990-2005 and presents designs for 409 productions from 55 countries representing the work of hundreds of designers as researched by a group of more than 100 dedicated volunteers from around the globe.

Ground-breaking productions highlighted include The Lion King, An Inspector Calls, Blue Man Group, Cabaret, the 2000 Sydney Olympics Opening Ceremony, several stunning productions of The Ring Cycle, along with the Bregenz Festival’s Nabucco, West Side Story, Porgy & Bess, and La Bohème; Teatro da Vertigem’s The Book of Job and Apocalypse 1:11; and Cirque du Soleil’s Mystère, O, and Kà.

Many the designs have been honored previously with such awards as the Olivier, Tony, Obie, Alfréd Radok, Golden Mask, and Molière, along with gold medals from the Prague Quadrennial and World Stage Design.

Among the many notable designers documented are Dale Chihuly, Bob Crowley, Koji Hamai, Dorita Hannah, Kazue Hatano, Pamela Howard, Richard Hudson, Mary Kerr, Yannis Kokkos, Michael Levine, William Ivey Long, Santo Loquasto, Richard Peduzzi, Cameron Porteous, Marina Raytchinova, Rosalie, Simona Rybáková, J. C. Serroni, Jiro Shima, Jean-Marc Stehlé, Ichiro Takada, Jennifer Tipton, George Tsypin, Joe Vanek, Tony Walton, Austin Wang, Herbert Wernicke, and Sue Willmington.

McKinnon and Fielding led an international team of researchers and associate editors to produce World Scenography 1975-1990 and, now, 1990-2005. The World Scenography book series was inspired by and seeks to build on the foundation established by the four volumes of Stage Design Throughout the World that were edited by Belgian professor René Hainaux and covered 1945 thru 1975. This book series started with a remark from Eric Fielding at the Honourable Scenographers’ Forum at the Prague Quadrennial in 2007 and a proposal by Peter McKinnon during their dinner that followed. Plans are for OISTAT to publish a third volume in the series documenting 2005-2015 with subsequent volumes each decade thereafter.

SKU 00018
Book author Peter McKinnon & Eric Fielding
Product language English
Pages 432
Illustrations 1300
Size 228 x 310 mm
ISBN 978-92-990063-4-4
Medium Books
Format Softcover
Publisher oistat
Year published 2014
Funded by
Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien
Neustart Kultur
Börsenverein des deutschen Buchhandels

Copyright © 2022 - Einar & Bert